Olympic Medal Count Map

August 25, 2008 at 3:02 am 2 comments

I was over at Phil’s blog and saw he had put a link to this Olympic Medal Count Map.

It’s great, and even for someone like me who is not much of a sports fan, it’s quite interesting.

As a designer I like how they have used both the geographic and rank views to display winning countries.

The interface is very nice.

Using this I found out that in 1904 the USA got a total of 239 medals! That is amazing, and it seems that the rest of the world just gave up. I have no idea why, but now that I know this, I’m interested to find out. So if anyone has any info, please pass it on. Ok, I Googled it and found this.

One feature I wish they had added would be to search for a specific country, and see how that country did over time. Even better would have been to select a few countries and see how they compared over time. So for example, I could see how Australia compared to our friendly rivals New Zealand.

Anyway, check it out, it’s fun, and you may just learn something.

Thanks for listening.

byebye – sye 🙂

Entry filed under: Graphic Design. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Funny 'font' video Type and Media Masters from i love typography

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. morejamesmore  |  August 25, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Hi,
    I agree that Phils Olympic medal counter is cool! Good job!
    I found this small widget that displays who won the 2008 Olympics from different angles.
    It can display medals won by total medal count, gold count – but in addition it can show medals won per million inhabitant and per million dollar GDP.

    I think you might like it:-)
    http://www.clearspring.com/widgets/48abc6bc903b61d0

    Thanks for talking:-)
    We’re listening:-)
    James

    Reply
  • 2. armorath  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:52 am

    thanks james! that is pretty cool!

    it’s nice also to know that someone is listening 🙂

    cheers – sye 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Find Me

Subscribe

My Flickr Pics

Blog Stats

  • 2,326 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


